Barber License and Certification

Barber license requirements, including required training hours, exams, and whether or not an apprenticeship is allowed, vary from one state to the next. Therefore, I’ve developed a comprehensive list of the certification and licensing requirements in each state.

If you’re not sure about the barber certification and licensing requirements in your state, simply select your state from the list below to find out what it takes to become a barber in your area.

Alabama

alabama
At the moment, there is no specific board in the state of Alabama for the issuing or regulation of barber licenses and there are also no specific laws pertaining to barber licensing. Unlike other states, barber licenses throughout Alabama are issued at the county level. Therefore, the information below is required by the Alabama Board of Cosmetology, which doesn’t issue barber licenses.

  • 1,500 barber school training hours or 3,000 barbershop apprenticeship hours required.

Alaska

alaska

 

All barber licenses in the state of Alaska are issued and regulated by the Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers.

  •  1,650 barber school training hours required.
  • Apprenticeship does not count towards a barber license.

Arizona

Arizona

All barber licenses in the state of Arizona are issued and regulated by the Arizona State Board of Barbers.

  • 1,200 barber school training hours required.
  • Apprenticeship does not count towards a barber license.

Arkansas

arkansas

All barber licenses in the state of Arkansas are issued and regulated by the Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology.

  • 1,500 barber school training hours required.
  • Apprenticeship does not count towards a barber license.

California

california

All barber licenses in the state of California are issued and regulated by the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.

  • 1,500 barber school training hours or 3,000 barbershop apprenticeship hours required for barber license.

Colorado

colorado

All barber licenses in the state of Colorado are issued and regulated by the Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetologist Licensing.

  • 1,800 barber school training hours or 50 credit hours required.
  • Apprenticeship does not count towards a barber license.

Connecticut

Connecticut

All barber licenses in the state of Connecticut are currently issued and regulated by the Connecticut Department of Public Health’s Cosmetology & Licensing Group.

  • 1,000 barber school training hours required.
  • Apprenticeship does not count towards a barber license.

Delaware

Delaware

All barber licenses in the state of Delaware are currently issued and regulated by the Delaware Board of Cosmetology & Barbering.

  • 1,500 barber school training hours or 3,000 barbershop apprenticeship hours required for barber license.

Florida

florida

All barber licenses in the state of Florida are issued and regulated by the Barbers Board of the Florida Division of Professions.

  • 1,200 barber school training hours required.
  • Apprenticeship does not count towards a barber license.

Georgia

Georgia

All barber licenses in the state of Georgia are issued and regulated by the Georgia Board of Barbers.

  • Master barbers must complete 1,500 barber school training hours or 3,000 hours of barbershop apprenticeship. Apprenticeship must take place for a minimum of 18 months.
  • Barber instructors must complete 750 barber school training hours and already possess a barber license.

Hawaii

Hawaii

All barber licenses in the island state of Hawaii are issued and regulated by the Hawaii Board of Barbering & Cosmetology, which is located in Honolulu on the island of Oahu.

  • 1,500 barber school hours or 1,500 apprenticeship hours required for barber license.

Idaho

Idaho

All barber licenses in the state of Idaho are currently issued and regulated by the Idaho Board of Cosmetology, which is a division of the state’s Bureau of Occupational Licenses.

  • Barbers must complete 900 barber school training hours.
  • Barber stylists must complete 1,800 barber school training hours.

Illinois

Illinois

All barber licenses in the state of Illinois are currently issued and regulated by the Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation.

  • Barbers must complete 1,500 barber school training hours.
  • Barber instructors must complete 1,000 training hours and already possess a barber license.

Indiana

Indiana

All barber licenses in the Hoosier state are currently issued and regulated by the Indiana State Board of Cosmetology Examiners.

  • 1,500 barber school training hours required.

Iowa

Iowa

All barber licenses in the state of Iowa are issued and regulated by the Iowa Board of Barbering located in Des Moines.

  • Barber practitioner license requires 2,100 barber school training hours.

Kansas

kansas

All barber licenses in the state of Kansas are issued and regulated by the Kansas Board of barbering located in Topeka.

  • Barber practitioner license requires 1,500 barber school training hours.
  • Barber instructor license requires barbers to have their license for at least three years and pass the instructor exam.
  • Apprenticeship does not count towards a barber license.

Kentucky

Kentucky

All barber licenses in the Bluegrass State are issued and regulated by the Kentucky Board of Barbering located in Louisville.

  • 1,500 barber school training hours or 9-month barbershop apprenticeship required.

Louisiana

Louisiana

All barber licenses in the state of Louisiana are currently issued and regulated by the Louisiana Board of barber Examiners.

  • 1,500 barber school training hours required for barber license.

Maine

maine

All barber licenses in the state of Maine are issued by the Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation located in the state’s capital of Augusta.

  • Barbers must complete 1,500 barber school hours or 2,500 apprenticeship hours.
  • Limited barbers must complete 800 barber school training hours or 1,600 apprenticeship hours.
  • Barber instructors must possess a barber license and complete 12 post-secondary education credits as well as 1,000 hours of barber instructor training.

Maryland

Maryland

Currently, Maryland barber licenses are issued and regulated by the Maryland Board of Barbers.

  • Barbers must complete 1,200 barber school training hours or 2,250 apprenticeship hours.
  • Master barbers must possess a barber license, have at least 1 months of barbering experience, and pass the state’s master barber exam.

Massachusetts

Massachusetts

All barber licenses in the state of Massachusetts are issued and regulated by the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Barbers.

  • Apprentice barbers must complete 1,000 hours of training.
  • Master barbers must complete 1,500 hours of training.

Michigan

Michigan

Currently, Michigan barber licenses are issued and regulated by the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs.

  • Barbers must complete 2,000 training hours.
  • Barber instructors must possess a barber license, have at least two years of barbering experience, and complete 12 months of instructor training; or 60 semester hours of teaching education.

Minnesota

Minnesota

All barber licenses in the state of Minnesota are issued and regulated by the Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners.

  • Mater barbers must complete 1,500 barber school training hours.
  • Barber instructors must possess a barber license and have three years of barbering experience as well as instructor training.

Mississippi

Mississippi

Currently, barber licensing in the state of Mississippi falls under the jurisdiction of the Mississippi Board of Barber Examiners.

  • 1,500 barber school training hours required.

Missouri

Missouri

All barber licenses in the state of Missouri are issued and regulated by the Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.

  • Barbers must complete 1,000 barber school training hours or 2,000 apprenticeship hours.
  • Barber instructors must possess a barber license and pass the state barber instructor exam.

Montana

Montana

All barber licenses in the state of Montana are issued by the Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists located in the capital of Helena.

  • Barbers must complete 1,500 training hours.
  • Barber instructors must possess a barber license, have at least one year of barbering experience, and complete 00 training hours.

Nebraska

Nebraska

All barber licenses in the state of Nebraska fall under the jurisdiction of the Nebraska Board of Barber Examiners.

  • 2,100 barber school training hours required.

Nevada

nevada

All barber licenses in the state of Nevada are issued and regulated by the Nevada barber’s Health and Sanitation Board located in the bright lights of Las Vegas.

  • Barbers must complete 1,00o training hours.
  • Barber instructors must possess a barber license, have a minimum of five years barbering experience, and complete 600 training hours at an accredited school.

New Hampshire

New Hampshire

In the state of New Hampshire all barber licenses are issued and regulated by the New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Aesthetics.

  • Barbers must complete 800 barber school training hours or 1,600 barbershop apprenticeship hours.
  • Master barbers must complete 1,500 training hours or 3,000 hours of intense apprenticeship.

New Jersey

New Jersey

Barbers in the state of New Jersey must contact the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling for further information regarding licensing.

  • Barbers, cosmetologists, and hairstylists must complete 1,200 training hours.

New Mexico

New Mexico

All barber licenses in the state of New Mexico fall under the jurisdiction of the New Mexico Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists located in Santa Fe.

  • Barbers must complete 1,200 hours of barber school training to earn their Master Barber license.
  • Barbers must possess a valid barber license, have two years of barbering experience, and complete 1,000 hours of training for their barber instructor license.

New York

New York

All barber licenses in the state of New York are issued and regulated by the New York Department of State Division of Licensing Services located in the capital city of Albany.

  • Two-year apprenticeship required for barber license.

North Carolina

North Carolina

All barber licenses in the state of North Carolina are currently issued and regulated by the North Carolina Board of Barber Examiners.

  • 1,528 barber school training hours and one year of apprenticeship required for barber license.

North Dakota

North Dakota

Barber licensing in the state of North Dakota falls under the jurisdiction of the North Dakota Board of Barber Examiners located in the town of Minot.

  • 1,500 barber school training hours required for a Master Barber license.

Ohio

Ohio

All barber licenses in the Buckeye State are issued and regulated by the Ohio State Barber Board located in the capital city of Columbus.

  • 1,800 barber school training hours required.

Oklahoma

Oklahoma

All barber licenses in the state of Oklahoma are issued and regulated by the Oklahoma Barber Licensing Program headquartered in Oklahoma City.

  • Individuals must complete 1,500 barber school training hours or 3,000 hours of apprenticeship for barber license.
  • Barbers must possess a barber license and complete 600 training hours for barber instructor license.

Oregon

oregon

Considered an individual discipline and separate from hair styling and design, barber licensing in the state of Oregon falls under the jurisdiction of the Oregon health Licensing Agency.

  • 1,100 barber school training hours required for barber license.
  • Barbers must simply provide proof of at least two years of barbering experience for a barber instructor license.

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania

All barber licenses in the Quaker State are issued and regulated by the Pennsylvania State Board of Barber Examiners.

  • 1,250 training hours required for barber license.
  • 695 training hours required for barber/cosmetology crossover license.
  • Five years of barbering experience and a valid barber license required for barber instructor license.

Rhode Island

Rhode Island

All barber licenses in the state of Rhode Island are issued and regulated by the Rhode Island Board of Hairdressing and Barbering.

  • 1,500 training hours required.

South Carolina

South Carolina

All barber licensing in the state of South Carolina currently falls under the jurisdiction of the South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation. However, barber licensing exams are administered by the South Carolina Board of Barber Examiners.

  • 1,500 barber school training hours or 1,920 hours of apprenticeship required.

South Dakota

South Dakota

All barber licenses in the state of South Dakota are issued and regulated by the South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners located in the town of Spearfish.

  • 1,500 barber school training hours and 12 months of apprenticeship required for a barber license.

Tennessee

Tennessee

All barber licenses in the state of Tennessee are currently issued and regulated by the Tennessee State Board of barber Examiners.

  • 1,500 barber school training hours required.

Texas

Texas

All barber licensing in the great state of Texas falls under the jurisdiction of the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations.

  • 1,500 barber school training hours required.
  • Apprenticeship does not count towards barber license.

Utah

Utah

Barber licensing in Utah is regulated by the Utah Cosmetology and Barber Board located in Salt Lake City.

  • 1,000 barber school training hours required.
  • Apprenticeship is also allowed for barber license.

Vermont

Vermont

All barber licenses in the state of Vermont are issued and regulated by the Vermont Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists.

  • 1,000 barber school training hours required.

Virginia

Virginia

All barber licensing in the state of Virginia is handled by the Virginia State Board of Cosmetology.

  • 1,500 barber school training hours or 3,000 barbershop apprenticeship hours required.

Washington

Washington

All barber licenses in the state of Washington are issued and regulated by the Washington State Department of Licensing.

  • 1,000 hours of barber school training required for barber license.

West Virginia

West Virginia

Barber licensing in the state of West Virginia falls under the jurisdiction of the West Virginia Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists.

  • 1,200 barber school training hours required.

Wisconsin

Wisconsin

All barber licenses in the state of Wisconsin are issued and regulated by the Wisconsin Barber and Cosmetology Examining Board located in the capital city of Madison.

  • 1,000 barber school training hours and 4,000 apprenticeship hours are required for a barber license.

Wyoming

Wyoming

Barber licensing in the Cowboy State is handled by the Wyoming State Board of Barber Examiners.

  • 1,000 hours of barbering work experience or apprenticeship required.

This site uses cookies. More info

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close